斜村的历史

很久很久以前,有一个可爱的,湛蓝湛蓝的湖水,郁郁葱葱的森林所包围。当马克·吐温首先看太浩湖,他表示,“这肯定是最好的世界观能提供。”

太浩湖的第一批居民是谁住,并沿海岸捕捞的印度人。随着时间的推移,文明西移动,定居暂停在通行证南北惊叹于水这个宏伟的车身颜色和清晰度。斜村通过湖的早期发展睡觉的时候,作为活动的初期,中心的兴起,在南太浩湖,布鲁克和塔霍市。

在19世纪中期,木材利益发现了内华达州北岸木材为华秀矿山的极好来源,并在这一点上,开始了我们所知道的斜村区域的有条不紊的记录。

它被称为当年的“倾斜”;名字来源于复线窄轨电车线路,其中进行记录近1400英尺垂直于V型水槽,沿山顶的花岗岩露头跑了。 4000英尺长的电车线路是位于现在的磨房小河细分领域。 (远足者会发现,在磨溪与沙港海滩之间的区域的电车线路和水槽的疤痕和残余。)

V型水槽进行线路通过,并以弗吉尼亚城和华秀谷的煤矿山引水隧洞的第一站倾斜的木材。

1884年,异地结算斜井被宣布两个选举选区和第四类邮局,从而标志着第一次斜面是“在地图上。”

到了1887年,斜面一直留树桩的大海上,摇摇欲坠水槽和腐烂的日志槽迷宫……湖地区的丑小鸭。倾斜留给睡眠和振兴本身。

在1900年初的游客到太浩湖花在布鲁克和Tallac的度假天堂南方辉煌的暑假,和太浩湖酒馆和布罗克韦北。阿一车道公路连接南北海岸,并在1930年,避暑山庄建于斜滩的区(南起凯悦太浩湖酒店,沿着湖滨大道。)

而此时,木材利益已售出大部分内华达州北岸从水晶湾微风湾到千万富翁地产大王,“船长”乔治Whittell。队长Whittell建立了他的石头城堡上沙港的南点(他家可以从道路,你是开车去南岸可以看出)。队长Whittell是相当的,并在同一时间,有野生动物漫游他的储备。

倾斜是不是在路上了“宽点”多一点在30年代,40年代和50年代,只有夏家和一个拖车公园区分开来。全年居民很少,而那些仍然告诉狂野的冬天,粮食短缺和隔离的故事谁。

在1950年代后期,水晶湾开发公司接洽队长Whittell,然后在他的晚年,与购买9000英亩这是今天斜坡村的报价。水晶湾开发公司有一个社区完全独特和总体规划,以完善一个宏伟的计划。销售制成,发展开始,并在1960年,道路被切断,滑雪场的设计,海滩被开发,和罗伯特琼斯趋势进行了接触受孕的高尔夫球场这将夫妇的美丽和挑战。

地段和公寓的销路大开。私人住宅是沿下湖滨大道(当时的主要公路)建设,在磨溪,中部地区,并在酒庄英亩乡村俱乐部分区视图站点。较低的黄松区的开发,以及湖滨公寓建成。 (难道你不希望你一直在这里,然后…当湖畔公寓都卖到了下40000美元!)一个小型的购物中心开始,随着市场和邮局。子女就读倾斜药物的现址上小学。高中学生乘坐大巴到里诺 – 6:00在早晨和在冬天离开,而不会返回,直到8:00至9:00,晚上。

水晶湾发展,企图保存的东西那些早期的日子记录这名新社区“斜村。”到1964年,一所新的小学正在建设中,而数年后,社会各界剪彩倾斜高中。斜村是在它的途中。在1968年6月,水晶湾开发公司出售其剩余的利益博伊西Cascade公司。新的发展开始。

第二个高尔夫球场由Robert Trent Jones设计,Jr。被建造和斜村单位1,1A,1B,2,3,4和5是总体规划。土地出让很快。大型公寓项目建 – 山影,森林松树。凡供应可能无法满足1960年的需求,现在,在1970年代早期,供给超过了需求,斜村准备好另一个“小睡”。

回收排在1976年,在斜村重新产生了兴趣作为全年社会兴起。居民的极大兴趣,他们的政治前途 – 注册成立的问题进行讨论;形成新湖县的可能性进行了探讨。摆动曾与永久居民的比例较大开始走向社区,设施建来处理他们的需要。

而且,这给我们带来了斜村,我们今天有…有一个健康的未来在身边的每一个角落的证据迹象。倾斜的居民和业主来自全国乃至世界各地。他们辛勤工作的年轻家庭和轻松的退休人员。他们是公司高管,航空公司飞行员,教师和建设者。他们是艺术家,作家和天文学家。它们是娱乐性活性,并且对环境的保护。而且,他们有一个共同点,他们对斜村和太浩湖无所不包的爱。

为什么我们爱生活在太浩湖,更具体地说,在斜村?部分原因是清楚的,清新的空气;干净,纯净水,我们从湖饮用而不需要净化,并期待我们觉得每一个新赛季。而且,在斜村,它是所有权的骄傲 – 所有权(我们继承作为业主)在我们的康乐设施 – 三滩,两个高尔夫球场,我们的滑雪场,网球中心和公园 – “社区”我们觉得意义作为我们定义明确的边界的结果,而我们的满意度作为获得参与小,越来越多的社区成员。

我们邀请您加入我们。居留唯一的要求是我们的美女愿意尝试新的生活,更轻松的形式有点先锋精神深表赞赏,和!

The History of Incline Village

Once upon a time, there was a lovely, azure blue lake, surrounded by lush forest. When Mark Twain first viewed Lake Tahoe, he remarked that “surely this is the finest view the world affords.”

Lake Tahoe’s first residents were the Indians who lived and fished along its shores. As time Passed, and civilization moves West, settlers paused in the passes to the North and South to marvel at the color and clarity of this magnificent body of water. Incline Village slept through the Lake’s early development, as the centers of activity in the early days sprang up at South Lake Tahoe, Glenbrook and Tahoe City.

In the mid-1800’s, lumber interests discovered the Nevada North Shore as an excellent source of timber for the Washoe mines, and at that point, began the methodical logging of the area we know as Incline Village.

It was called “Incline” in those days; the name was derived from the double track narrow gauge tramline, which carried logs nearly 1,400 feet vertically to the V-flume, which ran along the mountain top granite outcroppings. The 4,000 feet-long tramline was located in the area of what is now Mill Creek Subdivision. (Hikers will find the scars and remnants of the tramline and flume in the area between Mill creek and Sand Harbor Beach.)

The V-flume carried Incline’s timber on the first leg of its route to the water tunnel through the mountains on and to the mines of Virginia City and the Washoe Valley.

In 1884, the remote settlement of Incline was declared both an election precinct and a fourth class post office, thus marking the first time that Incline was “on the map.”

By 1887, Incline has been left a sea of stumps, with a maze of crumbling flumes and rotting log chutes … the ugly duckling of the Lake area. Incline was left to sleep and rejuvenate itself.

In the early 1900’s visitors to Lake Tahoe spent glorious summer holidays in the vacation paradises of Glenbrook and Tallac to the South, and Tahoe Tavern and Brockway to the North. A one-lane road connected the North and South Shores, and in the 1930’s, summer homes were built in the area of Incline Beach (south from Hyatt Lake Tahoe Hotel, along Lakeshore Boulevard.)

By this time, the lumber interests had sold most of the Nevada North Shore from Crystal Bay to Zephyr Cove to a multi-millionaire real estate magnate, “Captain” George Whittell. Captain Whittell built his stone castle on a point south of Sand Harbor (his home can be seen from the road as you are driving to the South Shore). Captain Whittell was quite a character, and, at one time, had wild animals roaming his reserve.

Incline was little more than a “wide spot” in the road during the 30’s, 40’s, and 50’s, with only summer homes and a trailer park to distinguish it. Year-round residents were few, and those who remain tell stories of wild winters, food shortages and isolation.

In the late 1950’s, Crystal Bay Development Company approached Captain Whittell, then in his declining years, with an offer to purchase the 9,000 acres which is Incline Village today. Crystal Bay Development Company had a grand plan for a community totally unique and master-planned to perfection. The sale made, development began, and in the 1960’s, roads were cut, a ski area was designed, beaches were developed, and Robert Trend Jones was contacted to conceive a golf course which would couple beauty and challenge.

Lot and condominium sales were brisk. Private homes were under construction along Lakeshore Boulevard (then the main highway), in Mill Creek, the central areas, and on the view sites in Chateau Acres and Country Club Subdivision. The lower Ponderosa area was developed, and lakefront condominiums were built. (Don’t you wish you had been here then … when lakefront condominiums were selling for under $40,000!) A small shopping center began, with market and post office. Children attended elementary school above the present site of Incline Drug. High school students were bussed to Reno – leaving at 6:00 in the morning and on winter days, not returning until 8:00 to 9:00 at night.

Crystal Bay Development, in an attempt to preserve something of those early logging days names this new community “Incline Village.” By 1964, a new elementary school was under construction, and several years later, the community cut the ribbon at Incline High School. Incline Village was on its way. In June of 1968, Crystal Bay Development Company sold its remaining interests to Boise Cascade Corporation. New development began.

A second golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr. was constructed and Incline Village Units 1, 1A, 1B, 2, 3, 4 and 5 were master planned. Land sold quickly. Large condominium projects were built – Mountain Shadows, Forest Pines. Where supply could not meet the demands of the 1960’s, now, in the early 1970’s, supply exceeded the demand and Incline Village was ready for another “nap.”

Recovery came in 1976, as renewed interest in Incline Village as a year-round community sprang up. Residents became interested in their political future – the subject of incorporation was discussed; the possibility of forming a new Lake County was explored. The swing had started toward a community with a larger percentage of permanent residents, and facilities were built to handle their needs.

And, that brings us to the Incline Village we have today … with signs of a healthy future in evidence around every corner. Incline residents and property owners come from all parts of the country and the world. They are hard working young families and relaxed retirees. They are corporation executives, airline pilots, teachers and builders. They are artists, writers and astronomers. They are recreationally active, and environmentally protective. And, they have one common denominator, their all-encompassing love for Incline Village and Lake Tahoe.

Why do we love life at Lake Tahoe, and more specifically, in Incline Village? Part of it is clear, crisp air; the clean, pure water we drink from the Lake without the need for purification, and the anticipation we feel for each new season. And, in Incline Village, it is the pride of ownership – ownership (we inherit as property owners) in our recreational facilities – three beaches, two golf courses, our ski area, tennis complex and parks – the sense of “community” we feel as a result of our well-defined boundaries, and the satisfaction we gain as participating members of a small, growing community.

We invite you to join us here. The only requirements for residency are a deep appreciation for our beauty, a willingness to try a new, more relaxed form of living, and a bit of the pioneer spirit!